This is an archived site/page. Please visit for the latest info. Thank you.
Men fully alive, endowed with a passion for justice, and the skills for development.

Xavier Debate Team Seals Dominance with 5th Straight Victory

by Mr. Brian Marana, XS Debate Team Moderator

On Saturday, March 8th, eight Xaverians participated in the Interschool Debate Association (IDeA) Grands Championship. The championship was a culmination of this year’s IDeA debate tournament, a series of three competitions throughout the year that drew teams from top schools in the Metro Manila area, including ICA, Poveda, Assumption College, Ateneo, and Southridge, to name a few. Xavier won the 1st IDeA tournament and the 3rd. The team did not compete in IDeA 2, since the event was hosted here at Xavier. Because of the team’s successes in these two tournaments, Xavier qualified four teams (out of 16) to compete in the Grands Tournament. In fact, for a first in IDeA history, the top four teams out of the qualifying 16 all came from Xavier.

The eight members representing Xavier in the Grands tournament were:

Team A: Peterson Poon (4A) and Evan Chen (4A)

Team B: Kenneth Reyes (3D) and Phillip Poon (3A)

Team C: Lance Tan (4D) and Stanly Sy (4B)

Team D: Timothy Chua (4B) and Carlo Borromeo (3B)

Teams A and D made it all the way to the finals, with team A winning the entire tournament.

With this victory, Xavier sealed its dominance in the debate arena for the 2007-2008 school year. The team participated in five tournaments throughout the year, each featuring at least 60 teams (in some cases, more than 100). In an overwhelming performance, Xavier won all five tournaments. Special mention should be made to the two leaders of the team, Peterson Poon and Evan Chen, who won every tournament in which they participated. Among these were two national level tournaments–the National Asians High School Debate Championship (NAsHDC) sponsored by DLSU, and the Philippine Schools Debate Championship (PSDC) sponsored by the Ateneo Debate Society.

In addition to the wins mentioned above, the team as a whole consistently qualified into the elimination rounds of each tournament. In every tournament, the team qualified the maximum number of teams allowed to break into the elimination rounds, and each finals round featured at least two Xavier teams (meaning in every tournament, 2 of the top 4 teams of each competition hailed from Xavier). During IDeA 3, three of the final four teams in the finals were Xavier teams.

In addition to Peterson and Evan, three members of the Xavier Debate team consistently won awards as top 10 speakers, including Lance Tan (4D), Stanly Sy (4B), Kenneth Reyes (3D), Phillip Poon (3A), and Carlo Borromeo (3B).

Furthermore, juniors Kenneth Reyes and Phillip Poon have qualified and been selected to represent the Philippines in a World Debate tournament, to be held in Washington D.C. this September. Good luck to them as they train this summer.

This year, the Xavier debate team accomplished more than any previous Xavier debate team, and as far as we know, the team accomplished more than any team in Philippine high school debate history. Congratulations to the Xavier Debate Team for a job very well done!

Luceat Lux!



Mr. Dan Abrogina said,

June 2, 2008 @ 11:26 am

Congratulations to the Xavier Debaters!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

Note: Xavier School reserves the right to edit or delete inappropriate comments. However, the School is also a believer in free speech. Only comments submitted using ones real name shall be considered for posting. Thank you.